Pass It On

Tidbits and treats from the Sunnyvale Public Library Reference Division

Readings from Red Sox Nation October 29, 2007

Filed under: Books,Nonfiction,Sports — svref @ 3:14 pm

ws_champs_logo.pngI love baseball. Always have, always will. So what a thrill it was for me when I attended library school at Simmons College in Boston, literally steps away from historic Fenway Park, home of the Red Sox.

When I’m not rooting for my beloved Oakland Athletics, I cheer for the Sox. The cheers indeed came last evening when the Red Sox swept the Colorado Rockies to win the 2007 World Series.

Red Sox Nation is probably best known for the long suffering 86 years between world championships in 1918 and 2004. With a storied history, memorable personalities, die-hard fans, and one curse, there has never been a shortage of writings about the Red Sox. You’ll find many of them in our catalog under the Subject heading “Boston Red Sox (Baseball team).”

Here are some quick hits:

faithful_cover.jpgFaithful : two diehard Boston Red Sox fans chronicle the historic 2004 season by Stewart O’Nan and Stephen King.

Reversing the curse : inside the 2004 Boston Red Sox by Dan Shaughnessy

Now I can die in peace : how ESPN’s Sports Guy found salvation, with a little help from Nomar, Pedro, Shawshank and the 2004 Red Sox by Bill Simmons.

Mind game : how the Boston Red Sox got smart and finally won a World Series by the writers of Baseball Prospectus

Big Papi : my story of big dreams and big hits by David Ortiz with Tony Massarotti

Idiot : beating “The Curse” and enjoying the game of life by Johnny Damon with Peter Golenbock.

 

2 Responses to “Readings from Red Sox Nation”

  1. Smokin Joe Says:

    I hope that I have caught the emotions of the past two World Series in my most recent post about my own experience as a New England Sports Fan.

    http://smokinjoenews.wordpress.com/2007/10/29/thoughts-from-a-24-year-old-new-england-sports-fan/

    Either way, enjoy life in Boston. I recently attended College there from 2001-2005 (quite the 4 year span of Superbowls and a World Series), and it was a blast.

    Enjoy the ride.

    Joe

  2. Smokin Joe Says:

    Well slap my face and call me charlie, looks like you are attending or have attended school in Boston, my mistake.

    Glad it was a thrill hehe.


Leave a Reply

